[Answer ID: 14126]

TeraStation Pro back up options

Created 05/30/2012 11:21  |   Updated 06/08/2012 14:49

"Normal Backup" - Saves as "yyyymmddhhmmsourcenamedata".  Makes a new folder for each backup.


"Overwrite Backup (Complete/Append)"
-
Saves as "_backupssourcenamedata".  Does a complete backup every time, if a file is on the destination that is not on the source, it will not be deleted.


"Overwrite Backup (Complete/Differential)"
- Saves as "_backupssourcenamedata". Does a complete backup every time, if a file is on the destination that is not on the source, it will be deleted.


"Overwrite Backup (Append)"
-
Saves as "_backupssourcenamedata". Does a complete backup the first time, subsequent backups only send the changes. If a file is on the destination that is not on the source, it will not be deleted.


"Overwrite Backup (Differential)"
-
Saves as "_backupssourcenamedata". Does a complete backup the first time, subsequent backups only send the changes. If a file is on the destination that is not on the source, it will be deleted.

Other options:

"Create a file folder which would be identified by backup source" -  If this is unchecked, any overwrite backup will overwrite files already existing on the share. This is useful if backup that seems to be mirrored exactly in structure is desired. There will be issues if 2 shares are backed up to a single share.

"Use encrypted transfer" - Specify whether data should be encrypted when it is transferred for backup. 

* Throughput is decreased if this encryption function is enabled. 

* Don't use this function when backup destination is USB hard drive.


"Use compressed transfer" -
Specifies whether data should be compressed when it is transferred for backup.

* When backup is performed via network by using this function, transferring speed may increase in the environment where network bandwidth is narrow. (It is not that backup all data into one archive).

* Do not use this function when backup destination is a USB hard drive.


"Create backup log files" -
Creates log files of the backup on the source folder.

"Backup task isn't cancel even error is occurred" - If enabled, after a backup failure, subsequent scheduled backups will still be performed.



Details


Products

OS / Hardware

Was this answer helpful?
Please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.

Refine your search

Select Product / OS & Hardware

      Enter Keywords or a specified ID